Boston Globe-Horn Book Awards

First presented in 1967 and customarily announced in June, the Boston Globe-Horn Book Awards are among the most prestigious honors in the field of children's and young adult literature. Winners are selected in three categories: Picture Book, Fiction and Poetry, and Nonfiction. Two Honor Books may be named in each category. On occasion, a book will receive a special citation for its high quality and overall creative excellence. The winning titles must be published in the United States but they may be written or illustrated by citizens of any country. The awards are chosen by an independent panel of three judges who are annually appointed by the Editor of the Horn Book.

A Sitting In St James

by Rita Williams Garcia

I Talk Like A River

by Jordan Scott

From A Whisper To A Rallying Cry

by Paula Yoo

The Patchwork Bike

by Maxine Beneba Clarke

The Season of Styx Malone

by Kekla Magoon

The Poet X

by Elizabeth Acevedo

Vincent and Theo: The Van Gogh Brothers

by Doborah Heiligman

The Hate U Give

by Angie Thomas

Most Dangerous: Daniel Ellsberg and the Secret History of the Vietnam War

by Steve Sheinkin

The Lie Tree

by Frances Hardinge

Cartwheeling in Thunderstorms

by Katherine Rundell

The Family Romanov Murder, Rebellion & The Fall Of Imperial Russia

by Candace Fleming

Grasshopper Jungle

by Andrew Smith

Eleanor & Park

by Rainbow Rowell

Electric Ben: The Amazing Life And Times Of Benjamin Franklin

by Robert Byrd

The Notorious Benedict Arnold

by Steve Sheinkin

Pocketful of Posies

by Salley Mavor

When You Reach Me

by Rebecca Stead

Bubble Troubleq

by Margaret Mahy

Dog And Bear: Two Friends, Three Stories

by Laura Vaccaro Seeger

Ain’t Burned All the Bright (OverDrive eAudio)

by Jason Reynolds