Coretta Scott King Award

The award (or awards) is given to an African American author and an African American illustrator for an outstandingly inspirational and educational contribution. The books promote understanding and appreciation of the culture of all peoples and their contribution to the realization of the American dream. The Award is further designed to commemorate the life and works of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and to honor Mrs. Coretta Scott King for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood.


by Amina Luqman-Dawson

Unspeakable The Tulsa Race Massacre

by Carole Boston Weatherford

Before The Ever After

by Jacqueline Woodson

The Undefeated

by Kwame Alexander

A Few Red Drops

by Claire Hartfield

Monday's not coming

by Tiffany D. Jackson

The stuff of stars

by Marion Dane Bauer

Piecing me together

by Renée Watson

Genesis Begins Again

by Alicia Williams

The sun is also a star

by Nicola Yoon

Radiant Child: The story of young artist Jean-Michel Basquiat

by Javaka Steptoe

March: book three

by John Lewis

Trombone Shorty

by Troy Andrews

Brown girl dreaming

by Jacqueline Woodson.

One crazy summer

by Rita Williams-Garcia.

Dave The Potter Artist, Poet, Slave

by Laban Carrick Hill

We are the ship: the story of Negro League baseball

by Kadir Nelson

Finding Langston

by Lesa Cline-ransome


by Carole Boston Weatherford