Newbery Medal

The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. Visit the Newbery Page to see more winners from the past.


by Amina Luqman-Dawson

The Last Cuentista

by Donna Barba Higuera

When You Trap A Tiger

by Tae Keller

Merci Suarez Changes Gears

by Meg Medina

Hello, Universe

by Erin Entrada Kelly

The Girl Who Drank The Moon

by Kelly Regan Barnhill

Last Stop On Market Street

by Matt De La Pena

The Crossover

by Kwame Alexander

Flora and Ulysses

by Kate DiCamillo

The One And Only Ivan

by Katherine Applegate

Dead End In Norvelt

by Jack Gantos

Moon Over Manifest

by Clare Vanderpool

When You Reach Me

by Rebecca Stead

The Graveyard Book

by Neil Gaiman

Good Masters Sweet Ladies Voices From A Medieval Village

by Laura Amy Schlitz

The Higher Power of Lucky

by Susan Patron

Criss Cross

by Lynne Rae Perkins

The Tale Of Despereaux

by Kate Dicamillo

Crispin The Cross Of Lead

by Avi

A Single Shard

by Linda Sue Park

A Year Down Yonder

by Richard Peck


by William H. Armstrong