Scott O'Dell Award

The Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction was established in 1982. The annual award goes to a meritorious book published in the previous year for children or young adults. Scott O'Dell established the award to encourage other writers to focus on historical fiction. Visit the Scott O'Dell Website to learn more..

Ophie's Ghosts (Overdrive ebook)

by Justina Ireland

Butterfly Yellow

by Thanhha Lai

Beyond the Bright Sea

by Lauren Wolk

Full of Beans

by Jennifer L. Holm.

The hired girl

by Laura Amy Schlitz.

Dead end in Norvelt

by Jack Gantos

One crazy summer

by Rita Williams-Garcia.


by Laurie Halse Anderson.

Elijah of Buxton

by Christopher Paul Curtis.

The green glass sea

by Ellen Klages

The game of silence

by Louise Erdrich

Out of the dust

by Karen Hesse

Under the blood-red sun

by Graham Salisbury

Stepping on the cracks

by Mary Downing Hahn

Streams to the river, river to the sea: a novel of Sacagawea

by Scott O'Dell

Sarah, plain and tall

by Patricia MacLachlan

The Sign Of The Beaver

by Elizabeth George Speare

Finding Langston

by Lesa Cline-ransome